Home

Are you a committed slave to the TV? Can you imagine your life without it?

A TV set – not television altogether – is becoming redundant. Or so I thought, until my friends started noticing that whenever they come along my TV is off and demanded that I turn it on.

Apparently, their TVs were always on when they were at home; if only for the sound and voices in the background to keep them at bay.

And I realized that I’m the strange one; the exception, not the rule. A city Thoreau. People still watch TV in the Internet and social media age! The Simpsons made their point, but didn’t prevent it from happening in the new century.

Normally it got me thinking as to the whys and hows and whats.

Television Redundancy

Why watch television when you have everything online? Why choose a pre-set program when you can be in control of what you’re watching?

Why waste time in subconsciously sinking in banal talk-shows, adverts that make you want and buy things, and whatever it is that they show on TV nowadays. For even passive watching/listening gets absorbed and stored.

Surely, if you wish to listen to music, you’ll do that; if you want to see a specific movie, you can do that; if you’d rather educate yourself with a science discovery watch a documentary. You get the idea.

In a time of information-abundance, an overflow in fact, if you’re not being careful what you choose, you’ll end up filling up your mind with useless bits and pieces, taking up valuable brain space.

Why would anyone choose being served without ordering? It’s like going to a restaurant and getting whatever the waiters bring you.

I’ve never been much of a TV person. Even when I worked in media monitoring and TV news was my life, I felt it’s something I’ll give up altogether at a given opportunity. Because even the positive aspects of television, such as entertainment and education, are outweighed by the control and manipulative psychological effects it imposes.

One negative result of the information profusion is people’s apparently shorter attention spans. I find this alarming. Seriously, if you can’t bring yourself to read anything longer than a 400-500 word article, then isn’t it a sign of a mind mesh, filled archives with all the latest ‘breaking news’?

News ‘Urgency’

Why all the preoccupation of being updated to the minute? What will happen if you find out a little later? There’s no way to miss finding out that Thatcher died, that there’s a potential war danger with North Korea, or that Apple is releasing a new product.

It will be greatly talked about, and being a pioneer in hearing about it will not make you any wiser or more informed than the rest. It’s big news that’ll spread all over the world in a matter of minutes.

Instead of subscribing to the latest news notification services, try letting go of the anxiety and find your own pace of accepting new info.

I’m not propagating an anti-TV revolution – demonstratively throwing TV sets on the street – but there are new ways and modes of being educated, entertained and informed.

You’re in control. What do you feel like: a film from the ’30s, learning about space; a comedy? It’s a condensed quality time with yourself and your interests.

What is your opinion on television today? Is it becoming redundant?

4 thoughts on “Leading A TV-Less Life and Television Redundancy

  1. I actually have no issues with TV today, I’m more often on Youtube but I try my best to pry myself away from that to be sure to watch shows like Doctor Who, and Supernatural and recently Arrow. Some days I’ll even just sit down on the couch for the sole purpose of seeing what’s on, challenge my own norms of what I’m into and just see what’s around, what’s being watched or just catch up on a marathon.

  2. I’ve lived without a TV since 2002! 🙂

    I accidently ended up living without one, because I had to continue my studies in England and my old TV didn’t fit in my suitcase and as a student I was too cheap to use my limited money on buying one over there.

    And when I returned to Denmark after graduation, I simply decided to continue without a TV and continue to use the “free time” for socializing more, reading more, exercising more, etc.

    That being said, I still turn on the television when staying in hotels on business trips – and am always shocked with the enormous amount of advertisements – but also still finds that Simpsons is a great show;)

    • Wow, that’s a very long TV-less life. 🙂 Good for you Kenneth! I feel my life so much richer without watching TV, and I’ve never been a TV freak either. There’re so many beautiful things to do in one’s free time, and TV just isn’t cutting it for me. As for good shows, I watch a very closely selected bunch of them once in a while, but I wouldn’t call that TV anyhow. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

