Home

Do you occasionally sit down and examine where you’re headed? Perhaps you’re a big supporter of ‘carpe diem’ and take everything one bit at a time, without too much contemplation.

Seize the day’ is a wonderful motto to live by, surely. Rather than obsessing over the past or worrying about the future, embracing the present is a great way to feeling content.

On the other hand, do we have the time to watch life pass us by? How can we stop having regrets at a later stage?

life, experience, urgency, inner peace

Photo by Dan Brady

One word: urgency. Life on its own is urgent, passable, limited, pressed with an expiration date. It pushes us to do – right now. Because tomorrow may be late. Because tomorrow may in fact die.

Though rushing through life may not sound like the path to fulfillment and can lead to anxieties if not handled properly, when adopted healthily it’s the single thing that will lead you to creation, action, personal success, and ultimately no regrets.

In the last chapter of History of the World in 10 ½ Chapters, the author, Julian Barnes, presents us with the concept of immortality or afterlife. The protagonist gets everything he wants: the best food, girls, winning at golf, literally anything he could ask for. Yet, after a while, he gets bored and asks what others do once they get bored too. They tell him that everyone eventually decides to die, even those true souls whose life always revolved around God’s will.

Isn’t this a fantastic presentation of the value of a mortal life? Think about it. If you were to be immortal, would you rush to do all those things you’re doing right now?

People are born procrastinators and if it weren’t for deadlines, many things would never get done. The stakes are much, much higher when that deadline is life itself. Instead of relying on New Year’s resolutions, to-do lists and similar planning techniques; why not implement the urgency aspect in your mindset and start doing now, tomorrow and later: all the time.

It’s not about work. With an urgency mindset, you are far more likely to worry less about insignificant things, enjoy the small things that matter, and focus on leaving your legacy to the world, whatever that means for you.  Grab life under your belt.

Do you live urgently? Any thoughts on this? Feel free to share in the comments.

13 thoughts on “Do You Live Urgently?

  1. Interesting post, Sophie! In my opinion a deadline is the single best tool for inspiring a sense of urgency… But I find it difficult to sustain a feeling of urgency each day for a goal that’s far into the future (like 10 years from now) even if there’s a deadline… So I tend to take a chunk of the long-term goal and use it as a small goal with a short deadline to feel the urgency.

    How do you keep your sense of urgency day in, day out?

    Keep up the good work, Kenneth 🙂

    • Thanks Kenneth! I actually use short-term goals as well to keep my urgency state, but also try to visualize the long-term ones in order to preserve the motivation constant at all times. Finding daily inspiration and doing small steps is probably the best way. It’s great to hear from you and thanks for sharing.

  2. Sophie, there are a couple of things going on for me here.

    First, have you read the book Flow? It talks about finding the path to your life through release. Urgency is one of those releases the book identifies as an inhibitor. I don’t think you need to be immortal to benefit from that. Don’t get me wrong, I am very focused and driven but I seem to think that taking it one day at a time can be as productive.

    Being good at golf, getting the girls and the great food is a nice place to be but there is also fun in pursuing those goals and that’s where I see the fun. Sure, we are all procrastinators when the work is not something that we want to do or enjoy to do. Maybe that’s a catalyst to make a change.

    Deadlines are a necessity of life. Agreed. Creating focus around the pursuits you love is part of the process for a person to realize their true loves. To me, the rest is just necessary to find the gaps and create openings for the pursuits that matter the most to me.

    Great post. Always get me thinking. 🙂

    • Ralph, I’m glad this got you thinking. You know I feel the same way about rest being necessary. We can’t work and blow out ideas 24/7. What I have in mind by urgency is a mindful practice of everything we do and prevent the time pass us by without us even being aware. After all, whatever we end up doing is great as long as it’s something we want at that very moment. Too many people complain about not having done this or that, filling themselves with disappointment and regret.
      I haven’t read Flow, but will definitely check it out. Thanks for your amazing thoughts; I always enjoy our discussions.

  3. Hi Sophie,

    Interesting post dear 🙂 Hmmm… Living urgently. It’s kinda new to my country where we mostly focused on freedom and deadlines are much flexible here Sophie. I know deadlines matters for growth of people and country too. But if they strict, it makes much complex our lifestyles, right? With new technology, we are now being complex here too.

    I’ve heard of people in US, UK and how much they devoted for work they do. Working, working and deadlines are boring there. They have got lot of work to do and almost live urgently. One thing I was always wondering about is why we are getting so complex lifestyles as technology grows 10x faster. I still prefer mine here as we are not much exposed to tech 🙂 But love tech.

    Cheers…

    • Hi there. You know, I also come from a place where the focus is on leisure, but consequently many things don’t work and people end up unhappy. No extreme is ever good, and balance is hard to achieve, so I guess it’s up to us to decide what’s most important to us individually and concentrate on that. I love deadlines; they give me a sense of accomplishment and a time frame that ultimately results in peacefulness. Thanks for coming by Mayura; I really appreciate it.

  4. The first tattoo I ever got was a picture of an hourglass on the inside of my arm, between my elbow and wrist. Inside, sand is falling through the hourglass, filling the bottom and covering up a small tombstone that says R.I.P. on it. Above the hourglass is the word “Carpe” and below it says “Diem.” It is my daily reminder that tomorrow is never guaranteed. I never want to forget that putting off something that’s important to me for even one day could mean it never gets done. That’s a consequence I’m just not willing to live with, so I look at that tattoo as a reminder whenever I start to make excuses. Great article, Sophie!

    • Wow, the tattoo sounds very cool. Now you got me guessing how many you have. Just joking. ‘Carpe diem’ is such a great wisdom and I’m sure that living by that motto is crazily satisfying. I do give my best most of the time. Thanks for sharing, Kevin.

      • Only six! Haha. Living by that motto is satisfying when you can do it, but it’s extremely hard. It’s just one of those things that I don’t think can be perfected in the crazy world we live in. All that matters is that we try our best to remember it when we can.

Leave a Reply

